March 1, 2019

Joaquin Esquivel Chair State Water Resources Control Board

Members State Water Resources Control Board

Eileen Sobeck Executive Director State Water Resources Control Board

Dear Chair Esquivel, Members of the Board, and Ms. Sobeck:

On January 7, 2019, Governor Gavin Newsom reinitiated discussions among interested parties to seek Voluntary Agreements that the State Water Resources Control Board (Water Board) could consider in its Water Quality Control Plan update for the San Francisco Bay/Sacramento-San Joaquin Delta Estuary and Watershed. These discussions have centered on how we can achieve multiple water quality, water supply, and sustainable water management objectives. The organizations listed below have actively participated in discussions over the past several weeks.

These efforts have made significant progress since the Water Board meeting on December 12, 2018. Today, the Directors of the Department of Fish and Wildlife and the Department of Water Resources are submitting two documents that demonstrate this progress and identify additional work that is needed.

The first document is a Project Description of a set of Voluntary Agreements that is submitted for further analysis by Water Board staff. It is based on the framework agreement outlined on December 12 and must be assessed for legal and scientific adequacy. The second document is a Planning Agreement that outlines an approach to implementation and terms for the work effort still before us. These documents are intended to integrate flow and non-flow measures to establish water quality conditions that support (1) the viability of native fishes in the Bay-Delta watershed, and (2) the achievement of related objectives in the Bay-Delta Plan, as amended. Today's submission does not represent agreed-upon Voluntary Agreements. Rather, it is an important step that is worthy of further analysis and discussion.

As individuals representing our respective organizations in this process, we are committed to continue working with the California Natural Resources Agency, the California Environmental Protection Agency, the U.S. Department of the Interior, and other interested parties in an open and transparent process to assess and further develop this proposal. We remain committed to try to reach Voluntary Agreements that advance California on the path toward sustainable water management.

Sincerely,

Gene Mancebo Amador Water Agency

Steve Rothert American Rivers Gary Justeson Biggs-West Gridley Water District

Mark Orme Butte Water District

Ernest Conant US Bureau of Reclamation, Mid-Pacific Region

Chuck Bonham CA Department of Fish and Wildlife

Karla Nemeth CA Department of Water Resources

Jeffrey Volberg California Waterfowl

Christopher White Central California Irrigation District

Marguerite Patil Contra Costa Water District

Kim Delfino Defenders of Wildlife

Michael Tognolini East Bay Municipal Utility District

Jim Abercrombie El Dorado Irrigation District

Maurice Hall Environmental Defense Fund

Marcus Yasutake City of Folsom

Jason Phillips Friant Water Authority

Thad Bettner Glenn Colusa Irrigation District

Ricardo Ortega Grassland Water District Donnie Stinnett Joint Water Districts Board

Curtis Creel Kern County Water Agency

Jeff Kightlinger Metropolitan Water District of Southern California

John Davids Modesto Irrigation District

Jay Ziegler The Nature Conservancy

David Guy Northern California Water Association

Andrew Fecko Placer County Water Agency

Lewis Bair Reclamation District No. 108

Sean Earley Richvale Irrigation District

Roger Cornwell River Garden Farms

Richard Plecker City of Roseville

Jim Pfeifer City of Sacramento

Dan York Sacramento Suburban Water District

Michael Carlin San Francisco Public Utilities Commission

Christopher White San Joaquin River Exchange Contractors Water Authority

Paul Helliker San Juan Water District Norma Camacho Santa Clara Valley Water District

Roland Sanford Solano County Water Agency

Jennifer Pierre State Water Contractors

Brad Mattson Sutter Mutual Water Company

Jeffrey Sutton Tehama-Colusa Canal Authority

Brian Johnson Trout Unlimited

Casey Hashimoto Turlock Irrigation District

Ted Trimble Western Canal Water District

Thomas Birmingham Westlands Water District

Curt Aikens Yuba County Water Agency